The streaming giant is testing a new feature that could help it crack down on password sharing. Netflix is rolling out alerts asking users to verify they are authorized to watch on the account to be able to keep watching.
"This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so," a Netflix spokesperson said in a statement. The company'sterms of servicesay accounts "may not be shared with individuals beyond your household."
When a user selects their profile on a shared Netflix account, a pop-up will ask them to verify the account by confirming with a text or email sent to the account holder. Users can also choose to verify later, in which case, the pop-up will show up again at an undetermined later time. If they can't confirm they're an authorized user, viewers will be prompted to set up a new account.
Before you panic: The new feature is just a test, and it's rolling out to a limited number of users who watch on the Netflix TV app.